1. Want to get our most recent announcements - and XP codes - in your email?

The "Shotbow"

Discussion in 'The Network' started by WavyWonderz, Apr 10, 2013.

The "Shotbow"
  1. PineapplesTM Platinum

XP:
    58,720xp
    A few of the games on the Shotbow network have the "Shotbow" as an item that you can obtain. In MineZ, it's quite rare. (I haven't actually gotten it before, so I don't know how effective it is.) I was wondering how the server tells the difference if someone fires a "Shotbow" or a normal bow. (or in Ghost-Craft, there's the "battlebow") I'm just starting out at developing, and because I often play on this server, it is where lots of my inspiration came from. How does the server know to fire a one arrow, or a burst of arrows. A simple way to do this would be through permissions, but that can't be, because anyone could find a "Shotbow" and switch to the normal bow and fire, and it would still act as it should (at least I presume). You could also make some sort of "hidden enchantment"... but how the heck do you do that? Of course, you don't have to answer, the small things are what makes the servers great, and you can't just be giving out your secrets can you? :wink:

2. snowball314 Silver

XP:
    7,168xp
    the shotbow coding is top secret Admin/developer stuff. (long for I dont know)
  3. PineapplesTM Platinum

XP:
    58,720xp
    Shhh, they'll tell us, I know it...
  4. jugularvein123 Silver

XP:
    19,663xp
    It has to do with the name as far as I can tell. In a wasted vid HighLife could change the gun by renaming it.
  5. PineapplesTM Platinum

XP:
    58,720xp
    Wasted is different, each weapon is a different item... That wouldn't make sense. The "Shotbow" is the same item as a bow, so there's a secret hiding somewhere :wink:
  6. jugularvein123 Silver

XP:
    19,663xp
    He had the same item, then he would do a rename command which would change the name of the item. This caused it to act like the weapon it was named as.